Buddy Hield, Grayson Allen help comprise Jerry West Award finalists

Texas A&M’s Jalen Jones isn’t a pure shooting guard, but he’s on the list with eight others chasing Buddy Hield. (USATSI)

On Monday, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced the 10 finalists for the Bob Cousy Award. I thought there were a couple of snubs there.

On Tuesday, we got a look at the 10 names chosen for the Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award, also handed out by the Naismith Hall of Fame. The list below will be pared to five in March; the winner will be presented on Friday, April 8, 2016. D’Angelo Russell — who was a dazzling point guard at Ohio State — won the award last season.

2016 Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award Finalists

Grayson Allen, Duke

Malcolm Hill, Illinois

A.J. English, Iona

Sheldon McClellan, Miami

Caris LeVert, Michigan

Buddy Hield, Oklahoma

Julian Jacobs, University of Southern California

Jalen Jones, Texas A&M

Josh Hart, Villanova

Malcolm Brogdon, Virginia

Any misses here, like with the Cousy Award? Well, first off, Buddy Hield is going to run away with this thing. It would take a season-ending injury to cancel him from taking home the hardware. So all of the other candidates are window dressing to a certain degree.

If you wanted to make a case for players not on this list, Kentucky’s Jamal Murray, Davidson’s Jack Gibbs and Washington’s Andrew Andrews could vie with Caris LeVert, Julian Jacobs and Jalen Jones (who’s not really a shooting guard) for inclusion on the list.


Source link

Leave a Comment