Do Teams Play Better With New Coach?

The Miami Dolphins granted their fanbase a favour by firing Joe Philbin and replacing him, on an interim basis, with tight ends coach Dan Campbell. The Dolphins have had a bye week to adjust to their new staff, which also includes a new defensive coordinator, but does a change at the top result in an immediate turnaround?

Since 2000 there have been 23 coaches fired midseason, and one Bobby Petrino resigning from the Atlanta Falcons, with teams amassing a lackluster 7-17 SU and 9-15 ATS record during the game after the coach departed. However, the returns for teams have been far superior in recent memory.

The past 10 teams to fire their coach midseason, dating back to the Buffalo Bills in 2009, have posted a better-than-average ATS record of 7-3.

Teams Performance Following Coach Firings
Team Old Coach New Coach SU ATS O/U
2000 Washington Redskins Norv Turner Terry Robiske L L Over
2000 Detroit Lions Bobby Ross Gary Moeller W L Under
2000 Arizona Cardinals Vince Tobin Dave McGinnis L L Under
2000 Cincinnati Bengals Bruce Coslet Dick LeBeau L L Over
2001 Minnesota Vikings Dennis Green Mike Tice L L Under
2003 Atlanta Falcons Dan Reeves Wade Phillips L L Under
2004 Miami Dolphins Dave Wannstedt Jim Bates L W Over
2004 Cleveland Browns Butch Davis Terry Robiskie L L Over
2005 St. Louis Rams Mike Martz Joe Vitt L L Over
2005 Detroit Lions Steve Mariucci Dick Jauron L L Under
2007 Atlanta Falcons Bobby Petrino Emmitt Thomas L L Over
2008 St. Louis Rams Scott Linehan Jim Haslett W W Under
2008 Oakland Raiders Lane Kiffin Tom Cable L L Under
2008 San Francisco 49ers Mike Nolan Mike Singletary L L Over
2009 Buffalo Bills Dick Jauron Perry Fewell L W Under
2010 Minnesota Vikings Brad Childress Leslie Frazier W W Under
2010 Dallas Cowboys Wade Phillips Jason Garrett W W Over
2010 Denver Broncos Josh McDaniels Eric Studeville L L Over
2010 San Francisco 49ers Mike Singletary Jim Tomsula W W Over
2011 Jacksonville Jaguars Jack Del Rio Mel Tucker L L Over
2011 Miami Dolphins Tony Sparano Todd Bowles W W Over
2011 Kansas City Chiefs Todd Haley Romeo Crennel W W Under
2013 Houston Texans Gary Kubiak Wade Phillips L L Under
2014 Oakland Raiders Dennis Allen Tony Sparano L W Over


Source link

Leave a Comment