LSU’s Ben Simmons wins Wayman Tisdale Freshman of the Year Award

LSU’s Ben Simmons had one of the all-time great freshman seasons. (USATSI)

LSU’s Ben Simmons has been named the Freshman of the Year by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association. The 6-foot-10 Aussie’s 19.8 points, 11.8 rebounds, 4.8 assists and 2.0 steals per game made him the overwhelming choice for the Integris Wayman Tisdale Award.

Here’s the rest of the USBWA’s Freshman All-America team.

Pos. Player, School Ht. Wt. Yr. Hometown
F Jaylen Brown, California 6-7 225 Fr. Marietta, Ga.
F Henry Ellenson, Marquette 6-11 245 Fr. Rice Lake, Wis.
G/F Brandon Ingram, Duke 6-9 190 Fr. Kinston, N.C.
G Jamal Murray, Kentucky 6-4 207 Fr. Kitchener, Ont.
G Ben Simmons, LSU 6-10 240 Fr. Melbourne, Australia

Simmons had a better rebound average than any freshman, and his 22 double-doubles were among the most in college basketball. He shot 56 percent from the field and played his way to likely being a top-two draft pick come June.

The award comes just days after LSU announced, amid its disappointing 19-14 season, it would decline any invitations to any postseason tournaments. Simmons’ consistent performance was juxtaposed against a team that could not put together an NCAA Tournament resume.

The USBWA began voting on a Freshman of the Year in 1989. Here is the full list of winners.

1989 Chris Jackson, LSU
1990 Kenny Anderson, Georgia Tech
1991 Rodney Rogers, Wake Forest
1992 Chris Webber, Michigan
1993 Jason Kidd, California
1994 Joe Smith, Maryland
1995 None selected
1996 None selected
1997 None selected
1998 Larry Hughes, Saint Louis
1999 Quentin Richardson, DePaul
2000 Jason Gardner, Arizona
2001 Eddie Griffin, Seton Hall
2002 T.J. Ford, Texas
2003 Carmelo Anthony, Syracuse
2004 Luol Deng, Duke
2005 Marvin Williams, North Carolina
2006 Tyler Hansbrough, North Carolina
2007 Kevin Durant, Texas
2008 Michael Beasley, Kansas State
2009 Tyreke Evans, Memphis
2010 John Wall, Kentucky
2011 Jared Sullinger, Ohio State
2012 Anthony Davis, Kentucky
2013 Marcus Smart, Oklahoma State
2014 Jabari Parker, Duke
2015 Jahlil Okafor, Duke
2016 Ben Simmons, LSU


Source link

Leave a Comment