SEC Conference Player Awards


The last games of the regular season were this weekend and so naturally before the conference tournaments, we begin to know the various distinctions in each conference.

Today, we will talk about the SEC, who named Arkansas Bobby Portis as MVP . The coach of the year, without a doubt from the Kentucky side, is John Calipari. Here is a summarry of what happened.

Player of the year:

No, the SEC player of the year is not on Kentucky’s roster. The sophomore from the Razorbacks, Bobby Portis, was crowned as MVP . The latter was the second best scorer of the conference and is also a top 10 rebounder. Portis compiled this season 17.8 points, 8.7 rebounds and 1.5 blocks per game. He was also the culprit of 11 double-doubles during the year.

Coach of the Year:

The coach of the year is really no surprise. Kentucky coach John Calipari was given that honor. Coach Cal has successfully led his team to a perfect season with a record of 31 wins in as many games. The goal for him and his players now is to secure a place in the Championship Game for the second consecutive year.

The team of the year:

As in the Pac-12 conference, the SEC team of the year consists of a roster with 9 players.
The SEC First Team of the year thus consists of the SEC Player of the Year Bobby Portis and his 17.8 points per game. In the paint, the razorback is accompanied by Kentucky’s toweres, Willie Cauley-Stein and Karl Anthony Towns . The first averaged 1.6 blocks per game and the second more than two. Jordan Mickey was also named on the team. He led the league blocks (3.7 B / M) and rebounds (9.9 R / M) .His teammate from LSU, Jarell Martin , will accompany him. Martin is the third scorer (16.9 P / M) and rebounder (9 R / M) of the conference. The last big man of the team, from Vanderbilt, Damian Jones was third in the SEC with 2 blocks per game. In the backcourt, Stefan Moody from Ole MIss and Josh Richardson from Tennesse made it. Finally, Danuel House , Texas A & M was the last member of the First Team All-SEC in 2015.

Second Team of the Year:

Levi Randolph, Alabama.
Michael Qualls, Arkansas.
KT Harrell, Auburn.
Dorian Finney-Smith, Florida.
Marcus Thornton, Georgia.
Devin Booker, Kentucky.
Aaron Harrison, Kentucky.
Craig Sword, Mississippi State.
Jalen Jones, Texas A & M.

Other awards presented by the SEC conference is that of Freshman of the Year, Defender of the Year and Sixth Man of the Year. The three were won by players from Kentucky: the first by Karl Anthony Towns, the second by Willie Cauley-Stein and the third by Devin Booker .

Leave a Comment