SuperContest: Team OddsShark Roster | Odds Shark

Team OddsShark is back at it again, stronger than ever thanks to a bigger, star-studded lineup of members who are all hoping to break through and finish in the Top 50 of the 2015 SuperContest at the Westgate Las Vegas SuperBook.

Last year, Kelly Stewart (aka kellyinvegas) was the lone team member to earn prize money in the world’s largest football handicapping contest, going 14-1 over the final three weeks of the NFL season to take home $15,000 as the Mini-Contest winner.

Stewart had previously worked in the Vegas nightclub industry, making last year’s run even more impressive. This year, she is focused on handicapping and betting full-time, which she believes will help her perform even better in the SuperContest.

“I just got hot during the right time in Weeks 15 through 17,” Stewart said. “Honestly, I didn’t do much different than any other weeks besides I wasn’t working my regular job, so I had more time to focus and prepare. (This year) I think I’ll have less stress and more time to focus on winning games now that it’s 100 percent my livelihood.” 

SportsLine’s Todd Fuhrman led the team with 51 out of a possible 85 points (60 percent) overall, but he just missed the cut for the Top 30 payouts. Fuhrman actually began the 2014 SuperContest on fire, going 14-1 over the first three weeks of the NFL season. Unfortunately for him, there was no prize awarded for that strong start.

“It’s easier to get to the top than it is to stay there,” Fuhrman said. “I know it’s cliché, but the 17-week contest really is a grind that rewards consistency.

“When I struggled through the middle portion of the season, the 14-1 start felt like a distant memory. By the end of the year, I was kicking myself for not finding a way to steal a few extra points to place in the money.” 

Record Field Expected for SuperContest

The SuperBook anticipates another record field this year and decided to expand the payouts to the Top 50, something each Team OddsShark member has set as a goal to achieve by the end of this season.

Back from last year’s team are Stewart and Fuhrman along with Jason McIntyre from The Big Lead, Nick Kostos from SportsLine, Ben Eckstein from America’s Line, David Fucillo and Matt Ufford from SB Nation, David Kaplan from Sports Talk Live in Chicago, and Rob Pizzola from The Score in Toronto.

Joining them this year are 11 new members of Team OddsShark, including Aaron Nagler from CheeseheadTV, Ben Watanabe from NESN, Clay Travis from FOX Sports 1, Dan Katz (aka Big Cat) from, Eric Sollenberger from SB Nation, Joe Ostrowski from The Score in Chicago, Jon Anik from the UFC, Pete Prisco from CBS Sports, Randall the Handle, Ryan Fowler from FOX Sports, and WhatIfSports.

Last but not least, each member of Team OddsShark will also be battling our very own Super Computer for bragging rights throughout the season to find out who can pick more winners. Make sure to follow all of the Team OddsShark members on Twitter as they trash talk their way through the SuperContest in hopes of winning what could be a $1 million grand prize if the overall field reaches 1,905 contestants by the deadline.


Source link

Leave a Comment