WATCH: John Calipari ejected 2 minutes into Kentucky’s game vs. SC

John Calipari was ejected early on Saturday. (Vine)
John Calipari was ejected early on Saturday. (Vine)

I’ve never seen anything quite like this.

Kentucky coach John Calipari was ejected 2:26 into the Wildcats’ huge game Saturday at South Carolina after receiving two back-to-back technical fouls.

It’s currently unclear what led to Calipari’s first technical. The situation came about after South Carolina’s Mindaugas Kacinas received an over-the-back foul while battling for an offensive rebound inside. Calipari had been upset on the previous possession when Gamecock forward Michael Carrera grabbed an offensive rebound for a put-back on what the Kentucky coach felt should have been an over-the-back call. However, the Wildcats got the next call.

Following the call, Calipari went up to the referee, Doug Sirmons, and said something, which led to a technical foul that Calipari was incredulous about in the above video. Following his brief outburst, Calipari was then issued a second technical foul, leading to this scene where he had to be restrained by his players.

Sirmons has something of a reputation for a quick trigger with technical fouls, both according to stats and according to coaches around the country.

He had not ever given John Calipari a technical previously while at Kentucky, according to, which has a comprehensive list of the Kentucky games he has officiated over the last 20 years.

It’ll be interesting in the coming days to see what Calipari said to earn such a quick exit.


Source link

Leave a Comment