Wisconsin senior Frank Kaminsky wins 2015 John R. Wooden Award


Frank Kaminsky beats out Jahlil Okafor to complete a sweep of the major awards. (USATSI)

Frank Kaminsky on Friday morning was announced as the winner of the 2015 John R. Wooden Award, meaning the Wisconsin senior has now swept all significant POY awards.

Nearly 1,000 “colllege basketball experts” voted for the award.

Duke’s Jahil Okafor finished second. UK’s Willie Cauley-Stein was third — followed by Notre Dame’s Jerian Grant, Ohio State’s D’Angelo Russell, Gonzaga’s Kyle Wiltjer, UNI’s Seth Tuttle, Utah’s Delon Wright, Wichita State’s Ron Baker and Virginia’s Malcolm Brogdon.

Kaminsky is also the CBSSports.com National Player of the Year.

The 6-foot-10 forward averaged 18.8 points, 8.2 rebounds, 2.6 assists and 1.5 blocks this season while leading Wisconsin to a Big Ten regular-season title, a Big Ten Tournament title and a second straight trip to the Final Four. The Badgers also ended Kentucky’s otherwise perfect season. They then lost to Duke in the national championship game.


Source link

Leave a Comment