MLB Betting: AL and NL Cy Young Odds


When the Washington Nationals signed former Detroit Tigers ace Max Scherzer to a massive deal worth $210 million over seven years it gave them two of the top three pitchers on the odds to win the 2015 NL Cy Young Award and made them the favorites to win the World Series at 6/1.

Scherzer won the 2013 AL Cy Young Award with the Tigers, going 21-3 with a 2.90 ERA and 240 strikeouts. He is 8/1 to win the NL Cy Young this year at Bodog, joining teammate Stephen Strasburg, who is 12/1 and hoping to stay healthy to earn his first award for the Nats.

However, the 1/1 favorite to win the NL Cy Young this season is the same player who has won it each of the past two years, Clayton Kershaw of the Los Angeles Dodgers.

Kershaw’s regular-season numbers have been difficult to top even though he has struggled in the playoffs against the St. Louis Cardinals, keeping the Dodgers from their ultimate goal of winning the NL Pennant and the World Series.

Los Angeles is the 17/2 second choice to win the World Series this year behind Washington, and at 9/2 to win the pennant.

In the American League, a couple of former winners lead the favorites at Bodog on the odds to win the Cy Young in 2015, Felix Hernandez (13/5) of the Seattle Mariners and Corey Kluber (4/1) of the Cleveland Indians.

Hernandez won the award back in 2010, going 13-12 with a 2.27 ERA and 232 strikeouts, while Kluber took it home last year with an 18-9 mark, 2.44 ERA and 269 strikeouts. Hernandez actually posted career-best numbers for ERA (2.14) and strikeouts (248) last season but was still beaten out by Kluber.

Other former winners in the running for AL Cy Young this season include David Price (11/2) and Justin Verlander (25/1) of the Tigers along with R.A. Dickey (100/1) of the Toronto Blue Jays. Verlander won it in 2011 with Detroit, Price won it in 2012 with the Tampa Bay Rays, and Dickey won the NL Cy Young with the New York Mets in 2012.

Following is a list of pitchers challenging for the Cy Young in each league and their odds to win the award at Bodog . . .

2015 Regular Season – Who will win the AL Cy Young?

Felix Hernandez 13/5
Corey Kluber 4/1
Chris Sale 5/1
David Price 11/2
Masahiro Tanaka 12/1
Sonny Gray 12/1
Alex Cobb 20/1
Jeff Samardzija 25/1
Justin Verlander 25/1
Yordano Ventura 25/1
Garrett Richards 33/1
Hisashi Iwakuma 33/1
Jered Weaver 33/1
Anibal Sanchez 50/1
Dellin Betances 50/1
C.C. Sabathia 66/1
Matt Shoemaker 75/1
Derek Holland 100/1
Edinson Volquez 100/1
Fernando Rodney 100/1
R.A. Dickey 100/1
Rick Porcello 100/1

2015 Regular Season – Who will win the NL Cy Young?

Clayton Kershaw 1/1
Max Scherzer 8/1
Stephen Strasburg 10/1
Madison Bumgarner 12/1
Adam Wainwright 16/1
Johnny Cueto 16/1
Jon Lester 20/1
Jordan Zimmerman 20/1
Cole Hamels 25/1
Jacob DeGrom 25/1
Matt Harvey 25/1
Zach Greinke 25/1
Gerritt Cole 33/1
Doug Fister 50/1
Henderson Alvarez 50/1
Jake Arrieta 50/1
James Shields 50/1
Julio Teheran 50/1
Tyson Ross 66/1
Lance Lynn 75/1
Aroldis Chapman 100/1
Craig Kimbrel 100/1

Share this: 


Source link

Leave a Comment